Funding


If you're in need of a little bit of financial support for your activity, you're in luck!

We're all about supporting our sports and societies at Lincoln Students' Union. If you feel like your activity would benefit from an extra bit of support, then just scroll down to see how we can help you further.


This grant is available to Academic Societies within the College or Arts and Social Science Cluster or College of Science and International Business School Cluster. Eligible activities can apply for up to £500 and your Students’ Union will provide up to 80% of the purchase, if the application is successful. Examples of what Academic Societies could use the funding towards:

  • Guest Speaker Events
  • End of Year Balls
  • Showcase Project Books

This grant is available to Societies within four cluster groups; Arts and Culture, Campaigns, Politics & Lifestyle, Faith & International and Recreational. Eligible societies can apply for up to £500 and your Students’ Union will provide up to 80% of the purchase, if the application is successful. Examples of what Societies could use the funding towards:

  • Off Campus Trips
  • End of Year Events
  • Showcases

This grant is available to Sports within five cluster groups; Active Lifestyle, Individual Competitive, Indoor Ball and Racket, Outdoor Ball and Racket and Snow, Water, Extreme. Eligible Sports can apply for up to £500 and your Students’ Union will provide up to 80% of the purchase, if the application is successful. Examples of what Sports could use the funding towards:

  • Equipment
  • Facilities Hire
  • Transport

 

All applications for the above grants should be submitted by core committee of the activity via the Funding section on the Student Dashboard. All applications will be submitted for approval at the next Activities Hub, if submitted before the deadline. If the deadline has passed the application will be taken to the next Activities Hub meeting.  

After approval at the Activities Hub, applications will be reviewed by the Executive Committee, activities will then be told the outcome of their submission following this.

Activities Hub Dates and Deadlines for Submissions:

Date Submission Deadline
Friday 23rd October 2020 Wednesday 14th October 2020
Friday 13th November 2020 Wednesday 4th November 2020
Friday 11th December 2020 Wednesday 2nd December 2020
Friday 15th January 2021 Wednesday 6th January 2021
Friday 12th February 2021 Wednesday 3rd February 2021
Friday 12th March 2021 Wednesday 3rd March 2021
Friday 23rd April 2021 Wednesday 14th April 2021
Friday 14th May 2021 Wednesday 5th May 2021

 


Competitive Grants

Is your club taking part in non-BUCS competitions? Are competition fees burning a hole in your pocket?

The Students' Union's Competitive Sports Grant can consider applications of up to £1,000 to cover the fees of your competitions. To apply, a member of your core committee should submit an application via the Funding section on the Student Dashboard. All applications will be submitted for approval at the next Competitive Grant Meeting. Applicants will be invited to present a ten minute pitch to accompany their application to a panel at the Competitive Grant Meeting. If the deadline has passed the application will be taken to the next Competitive Grant Meeting.

Competitive Grant Dates and Deadlines for Submissions: 

Dates Submission Deadline
Wednesday 4th November 2020 Wednesday 21st October 2020
Tuesday 1st December 2020 Tuesday 17th November 2020
Tuesday 8th January 2021 Friday 11th December 2020
Friday 5th February 2021 Friday 22nd January 2021
Friday 5th March 2021 Friday 19th February 2021
Friday 16th April 2021 Friday 19th March 2021

 

 


BUCS Funding

Sports Clubs can apply for a BUCS Grant annually, an application form (1 per team) must be completed by the current committee with as much detail as possible and submitted by 1st May 2020 in order to be taken into consideration for the following academic year. If your activity is not awarded the Grant, this doesn’t mean you cannot compete, it just means that your activity would need to fund itself.

A sports club can apply for team entry into BUCS for a BUCS team event. To apply for funding for a competition, you'll need to complete a BUCS funding request form as far in advance to the competition as possible (we can't do anything if you're planning to compete tomorrow)! Put as much information on the form as possible, including quotes, then your application will be discussed at the next Participation Sub Committee and decided whether funding is given.

For competition funding, you are able to apply for any costs associated with the competition as well as competition entry.

An individual can apply for an individual entry into BUCS and must fill out a BUCS Individual Entry Application Form.

Both the Team Event Entry and Individual Entry applications are taken to the Participation Sub Committee for approval. These occur 3 times a year, and deadlines are below, if your application is submitted after one of the deadlines, it will be taken to the next Meeting:

  • First Deadline: Wednesday 21st October 2020
  • Second Deadline: Wednesday 6th January 2021
  • Third Deadline: Thursday 25th March 2021

For more information and for the correct processes on the above BUCS Funding please read the BUCS Funding Policy.