Training Opportunities


 

Training calendar 2019/20

 

Employability Skills Life Skills

Employability drop-in sessions

Every Thursday, 1-4pm @ Careers & Employability Centre

Come and have a chat with the Employability Team from your SU about the opportunities we have on offer to help you improve your employability!

FREE cooking classes

CLASSES TBC

eLearning courses

Available online throughout the year!

Boost your star ratings in each of the Employability Skills by completing one of our eLearning courses.

Courses available include:

  • Effective Communication
  • Commercial Awareness
  • Leadership
  • Time management
  • Meeting skills

eLearning courses are available through your account on the SU website.

Employability drop-in sessions

Every Thursday, 1-4pm @ Careers & Employability Centre

Come and have a chat with the Employability Team from your SU about the opportunities we have on offer to help you develop your life skills!

Skills Log training

Available online throughout the year!

Want to know how to make the most of your Skills Log? Complete our eLearning course and find out how you can track your skills development.

Earn a Learning & Adaptability star for completing this course!

Learn sign language!

DATES TBC

Careers & Employability workshops

The Careers & Employability team at the University are providing a wide range of workshops and sessions, covering areas such as:

  • CV writing & cover letters
  • Presentation skills
  • Leadership
  • Problem-solving
  • LinkedIn

DATES TBC

For further information: https://uolcareers.co.uk/events/

To book onto any of these workshops, please contact: [email protected]  

Confidence workshops

The Student Wellbeing Centre is running workshops to help you build your confidence.

Autumn term dates

  • Wednesday 20th November
  • Wednesday 27th November
  • Wednesday 4th December
  • Wednesday 11th December

Spring term dates

  • Wednesday 26th February
  • Wednesday 4th March
  • Wednesday 11th March
  • Wednesday 18th March

To book onto a workshop or to find out more information, please contact:  [email protected]

The Careers Clinic

Monday – Friday, 1-4pm @ Careers & Employability Centre

The Careers Clinic is provided by the Careers & Employability team at the University and is for quick enquiries such as a CV check, advice on personal statements, job applications or job searches.

Please note: if travelling to visit the Careers Clinic, please give Careers & Employability a call to double-check that it is running: 01522 837828

For further information, please contact:
[email protected]

Accredited First Aid training

Course 1 dates*:

  • Tuesday 3rd December 2019
  • Monday 16th December 2019
  • Tuesday 17th December 2019

Book your place here

Course 2 dates*:

  • Thursday 23rd January 2020
  • Thursday 30th January 2020
  • Thursday 6th February 2020

Book your place here

Gain an accredited First Aid qualification through your SU! Courses are £75 plus VAT and can be paid for and booked online through the shop or at SU Reception.

*You must be available all day for each of the 3 days of the course to gain your qualification.

Student Enterprise workshops

The Student Enterprise Service at the University is dedicated to offering support to help turn your business idea into a reality.

This includes various free workshops:

DATES & WORKSHOPS TBC

To book on to a workshop, please contact: [email protected]

If you are an entrepreneurial student or have a new business idea, have you considered applying for Swan’s Den? Find out more here: https://lincolnsu.com/employability/swansden

Duke of Edinburgh training

Come along and learn skills to make you equipped for your expedition!

  • Map reading and navigation

Tuesday 18th February, 5-6pm @ SU Boardroom

Book your place here

  • Food and nutrition

Tuesday 10th March, 5-6pm @ SU Boardroom

Book your place here

  • Practical skills e.g. packing a rucksack, putting up a tent

Tuesday 24th March, 5-6pm @ SU Boardroom

Book your place here

Interested in completing your Gold DofE Award? Come along to one of our information sessions:

  • Tuesday 15th October (5-6pm) @ The HUB
  • Tuesday 11th February (5-6pm) @ The HUB

Or contact us: [email protected]

Networking – Student Hubs

DATE & DETAILS TBC

Please keep an eye on this page for more details.

Personal Resilience – Student Hubs

DATE & DETAILS TBC

Please keep an eye on this page for more details.

 

Financial Management talks

DATES & WORKSHOPS TBC

Please keep an eye on this page for more details.

 

Anxiety Course – Student Wellbeing

DESCRIPTION & TIMINGS TBC

Course 1 dates:

  • Friday 18th October
  • Friday 1st November
  • Friday 8th November
  • Friday 15th November

To book onto this course, contact: [email protected]

 

Relationships Course – Student Wellbeing

DESCRIPTION & TIMINGS TBC

Course 1 dates:

  • Friday 22nd November
  • Friday 29th November
  • Friday 6th December
  • Friday 13th December

To book onto this course, contact: [email protected]

 

Resilience Course – Student Wellbeing

DESCRIPTION & TIMINGS TBC

  • Wednesday 16th October
  • Wednesday 30th October
  • Wednesday 6th November
  • Wednesday 13th November

To book onto this course, contact: [email protected]

 

Fundraising for Charity

If you have a desire to fundraise for charity, this eLearning will provide you with an introduction to fundraising, such as coming up with ideas for events, planning and using social media.

eLearning courses are available through your account on the SU website.

Earn a Learning & Adaptability star for completing this course!