SU Awards Winners image

The Students’ Union Awards 2020 saw over 500 nominations from students and staff across 14 different awards categories. Once again, the quality of nominations superseded itself and the selection panel had incredibly tough decisions to make. 

Whilst we are unable to have a physical awards ceremony, we this year held the awards ceremony online. You can watch the awards here: [link to FB video] 

The Winners and Highly Commended individuals for each award are: 

Sports Club of the Year: 
Winner- Dance 
Highly Commended – Ultimate Frisbee

Society of the Year: 
Winner- Christian Union
Highly Commended - Drama

Academic Society of the Year: 
Winner- Law 
Highly Commended - Photography

Volunteer of the Year: 
Winner- Emma Godden
Highly Commended – Christina McKay

Volunteer Officer of the Year: 
Winner- Rhys Davies 
Highly Commended – Callum Inkster

Academic Representative of the Year: 
Winner- Xanthe Turley-Stainton
Highly Commended – Christopher Avison 

Student-Led Event of the Year: 
Winner- Enviro-Fayre
Highly Commended – Cuddle a Fluffy

Campaign of the Year: 
Winner- Rugby Union
Highly Commended – Sunflower Lanyards 

Inspirational Teacher of the Year: 
Winner- Lynda Skipper
Highly Commended – Fenja Ziegler

Professional Staff Member of the Year: 
Winner- University of Lincoln Tech Team
Highly Commended – Emma Platton

Course of the Year: 
Winner- Geography (BSc)
Highly Commended – Creative Writing (Ma)

The 'One Community' Cultural and Diversity Award: 
Winner- Aaron Powell
Highly Commended –Shazeda Ahmed

The Mary Stuart Award for Student Engagement: 
Winner- Molly Sturgeon
Highly Commended – Isobel Rycroft 

Haydn Biddle Award for Outstanding Involvement in the Students’ Union: 
Winner- Ellie Fooks
Highly Commended – Eleanor Burnett

The Vic Langar 'Winner of Winners' Award:
Winner - Molly Sturgeon

We also celebrated a number of Sports Scholars who have shown outstanding commitment to their disciplines. The Sports Scholars are: 

Boccia  - Lee Croker (Awarded Half Colours)
Soccer & Futsal (hearing impaired) - Jennifer Evans
High Jump - Matthew Grapes
Soccer - Danny Horton
Soccer - Olivia Leslie
Dragonboat - Katie Brentnall (Awarded Half Colours)
Basketball - Owen Elsworth (Awarded Half Colours)
Cycling - Chris Durham
Taekwondo / MMA - Kaitriona Grewal
High Jump - Ellie Walker
Archery - Liam Wright
Soccer - Erin Wilson
Mountain Biking - Owyn Wallace

You can watch the full video of the winner announcements here. 

The Winners and Highly Commended individuals will receive a digital certificate. When we can physically be on campus, winners will be sent a framed certificate.