The Swannys - Shortlist and Winners image

This year, we are excited to be celebrating our #WeAreLincoln community with The Swannys: awards which recognise individuals and groups from sport and societies, the Campaigns Network and the International Students Association who go above and beyond and actively seek to make a difference. 

We asked students to nominate their peers in a series of categories. Following a shortlisting and judging process, the winners were going to receive their awards at The Swannys ceremony on the 23rd April in The Engine Shed. Sadly, due to the current COVID-19 situation, this event isn't going to happen, but we still want to make sure that our winners are recognised and celebrated. 

We received hundreds of nominations from students and below are the shortlisted nominees. We are going to be holding a virtual Swannys event on our Facebook page between 12pm - 7pm on Friday 1st May, where we will be announcing the winners, so keep a lookout for more details about that on our social media channels. Below are shortlisted nominees:

Activities Awards Shortlist:

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Elizabeth Ransom - Hockey President - Winner
  • Tai Rowntree - Gymnastics President
  • Jacob Myton - Men's Football President

Coach of the Year

  • Barney Sloane - Shotokan Karate
  • Jess Yallop - Women's Basketball
  • Harry Margarson - Handball
  • Holly Armitage - Ultimate Frisbee - Winner

Society Personality of the Year

  • James Morrison - Terrible Film Society President
  • Samantha Horton - Drama Society President - Winner
  • Isobel Rycroft - St. Johns Ambulance Society President

Activities Fundraiser of the Year

  • Hockey - Grace's Cup
  • Men's Rugby Union - Various Charity Fundraising Events - Winner
  • Dance - Take Me Outta Here

Academic Society Personality of the Year

  • Lydia Gallyer-Barnett - Economics Society President 
  • Aleksandar Ferrari - Engineering Society President 
  • Daniel Jeffrey - Law Society President - Winner

Activities Membership Engagement Award

  • Netball - Winner
  • Cheerleading
  • Economics

Activities Committee Engagement Award 

  • Trampolining 
  • Pole Fitness - Winner
  • Cricket

Activities Event of the Year 

  • Christian Union -Christmas Carol Concert
  • Dance Society - UoL Dance Society Competition 2020 - Winner
  • Drama Society - The Three Musketeers

Think. Care. Act Award

  • Yuval Abel - Creative Writing Society President & Harry Potter Social Sec - Winner
  • Ethan Canet-Baldwin - Drama Society Vice President
  • Christian Union Society 

Campaigns Network Awards Shortlist:

Project of the Year

  • Alzheimer's Lincoln 
  • Samaritans 
  • Uni Boob Team (Coppafeel) - Winner

Officer of the Year

  • Zoe Hoy - Disabilities Officer - Winner
  • Bailey Marchant - Environmental Officer
  • Jacob Ford - LGBT+ Officer

Project Leader of the Year

  • Emma Godden - Alzheimer's Lincoln
  • Christina McKay - Lincoln Marrow - Winner
  • Lucy Dunning - STAR (Student Action for Refugees)

Fundraiser of the Year

  • Niamh Tame - Guide Dogs Project Lead
  • Emma Godden - Alzheimer's Lincoln Project Lead
  • Ben Webb - CATS (Cancer Awareness in Teenagers and Young People Society) - Winner


Fundraising Event of the Year

  • Cuddle a Fluffy - Guide Dogs 
  • Forget Me Rocks - Alzheimer's Lincoln - Winner
  • KiSS Quiz - Kiddie Support Scheme 

Collaboration of the Year

  • Flashback! - Alzheimer's Lincoln and Pride Society - Winner
  • Text Competition - Uni Boob Team (Coppafeel) and Various Sports Teams
  • Popcorn Selling - Guide Dogs and Terrible Film Society 

Change Maker of the Year

  • Holly Tyers - Food Bank Collection
  • Zoe Hoy - Disabilities Officer 
  • Bailey Marchant, James Morris and Jacob Ford - Enviro-Fayre - Winner

International Students Association (ISA) Awards Shortlist:

Best Buddy

  • Aisha Bibi Saghir and Aikaterini Nastou - ISA Buddies - Winner
  • Shazeda Begum - ISA Buddy Lead

International Engagement Award

  • Rebecca Cardell 
  • Clara Rowe
  • Jenna Moon - Winner


ISA Personality of the Year

  • Stephen Hernandez
  • Deeksha Ashwini - Winner
  • Aurelio Lewis

Intercultural Impact Award

  • Jacob Tettey Diameh - Winner
  • Zuzanna Krawczky
  • Abby Green

Unsung Hero Award Shortlist:

Unsung Hero Award:
  • Zoe Hoy - Disabilities Officer
  • Ben Madeley - Musical Theatre Society President
  • Rhys Davies - Societies Officer and 20 Minute Society President - Winner