Shortlisted for Tech and Innovation Awards image

We are proud to announce that the University of Lincoln Students' Union (ULSU) software platform, the Students' Union Management System (SUMS), has been shortlisted as a finalist for three regional awards


  1. Innovation in Education and Training
  2. Tech for Good
  3. Business of the Year


Having won the Education Product of the Year award at the Lincolnshire Technology and Innovation Awards in 2018, it is a great honour to be shortlisted for not one, but three awards this year. What's more there has been an unprecedented amount of 2019 applications received, with a total of 60 shortlisted businesses out of 140 nominations, making the achievement even greater. 

The ULSU CEO, James Brooks, had something to say about the news: 

"It is great that the continued development and growth of the SUMS platform has been recognised by the shortlisting in three categories. The SUMS platform has gone from strength to strength. It started out as a project to provide a CRM and CMS solution to Lincoln students and now has soared in growth, being commercialised to provide a software platform for other Students' Unions around the country. SUMS is a real success story, having become a true disrupter in the Students' Union marketplace. It is testament to the dedication and hard work of our team of developers that this shortlisting achievement is possible."

Six members of Union staff will be attending the awards ceremony on 13th June at the Lincolnshire Showground, where the winners and runners-up for 20 different categories will be announced. Watch this space for the results. 

The Students' Union Management System (SUMS), is a content management system which has been developed and built by key members of staff within the ULSU team. Originally launched in 2013, SUMS has since played its part as the central software platform through which all functions of the Students' Union runs. It has since been released as a commercial product and is set to support the University of Lincoln and 8 other Unions; Kent, Sheffield, Loughborough, York St. Johns, York, Northampton, Hull and Nottingham.